To get to some place you would first have to cross half of the way. Then half of that, then half of that, and so on. IN essence we wouldn’t get to ANY place as this half of the way thing would be continued on to infinity. Sure, distances would get so tiny that you couldn’t squeece a quark in between them, but still, we wouldn’t get anywhere!

EVER!

So I am somewhat relieved that we don’t exist in a universe of pure math, as that would of course mean that ntohing could’Ve ever clumped together to form the first stars, and the rest of the universe later on. And in turn we would’ve never made it into existance.

 

But while we are at the topic of non-existance.

If there are four people in a room, and five leave it, one person would have to enter it to make it an empty room again. If we would live in that universe I’D bee terrified to enter a room without any people in it, scared that I might end up in mathematical oblivion, capable of leaving only if there is a positive number of people in it, or by creating a negative people number, zapping into existance at the door.

 

So for now, I conclude – math is scary. Not like “Shit I hate math, this crap is scary!”.

More like “I’m scared shitless, I might get annihilated by math!”

 

Gladly we live in a universe that isn’t entirely mathematical…

 

A.

PS: got a B on my Math exam…

