My wife alerted me to a local spiritual nitwit. I knew of him before – he is a somewhat known character – but he also holds seminars concerning love. He calls himself the “lovecoach”.

Now, bringing love into the world is not a bad thing per se, but the things he advertises to teach are actually a catastrophe in themselves. He promises to teach how to commune with the “Upstairs” – a synonym for the shared higher consciousness of the human kind – and that with these teaching one would get rid of doubt and fear all together. Only confidence and love remaining.

Now. There is where my problem with him start.

I have been around long enough to know that, while love is a prescious and important thing, fear and doubt are the driving forces behind every individual. With out fear we stop. Either we get prayed upon, or we simply stop developing further. Be it technological or spiritual. We simply stop moving forward.
Without doubt we stop being inquistive. We stop asking questions, investigating and we stop learning.

Without fear and without doubt we end in the limbo of stagnation. A crippled mind and soul, berreft of the most important tools to drive on.

IF we as a species would be cursed to exist without fear and doubt we would’Ve been eaten by lions in africa all these millenia ago, or wouldn’t have made it past a fruit and root gathering monkey stage. Hunting would require doubt, doubt that it can be done to kill a mammoth with spears until a few tried, failed, fashioned new weapons, tried again, until they eventually succeeded.
Fire would require doubt (is it safe? Can we better our food?) and fear (I fear cold!). Stay in the savannah, gather roots, fruit and run from the lions.

It’s self procalimed prophets of love and peace like the “Lovecoach” that make desasters happen.

The guide to love is a complicated one, and I certainbly don’t have all the answers, I found love. I’ve never really known my peace, and at times I think I could find it. In that split second at the hight of an orgasm. Or when everything is runing smooth for a while, and I sit in the sun, reading a book, or writing, my belly filled and my needs satisfied, no noise to annoy the living crap out of me, just the blue sky above and a deep connection with the universe from the very base of my heart. Or once my baby boy is born, in a simple smile.
Peace is not far.
Yet elusive.

Just be yourself – that overlapping part of “Who you want to be”, “Who you truly are” and “Who you have to be” – and nest yourself in the world. Don’t run around trying to please everyone, you’ll fail.
Be calm for fuck’s sake! The more agitated you are the more you will be unhappy.

But most important, be afraid. Let doubt fill you to the point where you have to find out. Don’t stop growing, expanding, moving. If you stop, you rot. Mentally.

And avoid the lovecoach! For crying out loud, avoid all these prophets! Whether they say “doom” or “love” – avoid them. There is only one light to guide you, you! No god that has been described by desert people thousands of years ago. Not another person, nor an incarnation of a holy man, not anything others tell you. And most certainly not  a middle aged (~50), overweight, balding man with a wife of 24 (!).

“There is a difference between knowing the path, and going the path.”

A.

