Beforehand let me tell you, I am not belitteling the work some people had put into their “fame”.
I have told that to a fellow YouTuber who was critizing a certain YouTube celebrity for being a sell-out. The creator in question had built up a nice business, with himself as the star. It was quite some work, and as far as I know, it was quite by accident, since he wanted to do something entirely different originally.
I respect that. I respect the work and effort, I do not envy him, and by far am I not in a position to critizie him. To do that I would have to show something for myself.
And I have not much to show for.

Even if, it was the decision of these people, of that creator in question. The commenter had nothing to show for himself either.

But!

I have to say that I have seen some people rise to fame on the net through the work they did, and they did it for the love they had for their work.
Any person who loves doing what they do, whether they become famous or not, deserves my respect, and to a certain degree, my loyalty. But as soon as the love gets pushed aside for the money, or the love for money, my loyalty crumbles away.
I dislike corporate sell-outs.
Yes, it is the free market, and the decision of these people, as many of them invest quite some money into their passion, it is only legitimate that they get some in return. But being annoyed the fuck out of my skull by 30 seconds of unskippable advertising before a video is making all respect I have/had vanish.

These people rose from basement located, single webcam using, talkers to entertainers who have several cameras, expensive equipement and quite a viewer base. – same thing goes for bloggers, minus the camera and expensive equipement (unless you’re foolish enough to buy Mac).
From zero to hero!

And now they think they can torment the viewers they had worked so hard for with mediocre, sometimes outright bad, videos (posts) and a ton of advertising. There is merchandise with their logos and feces[KILL] faces all over it (Spaceballs, anyone?) and we’re supposed to buy it. Flush money down the drain.
From fame to fail.

I am writing this with the full knowledge that I will never be as famous as they are, and even if, I’m way to weary of the consequences if I sell out.
Sure, it’d be fine to see my name on a book, not as an author of ONE story in an anthology (again), but as the ONLY author. I’d give a lot for that, but I decided to publish it here. There are things I leave out of the online publications (brutality, sex, others), that I’d include in a printed version (or published where I’d get money for it). But the gist of it is here. And it’s only a little percentage I’m leaving out. (less than 1%)
I once met a gal who writes for money. And for money only, not because she loves writing, but because she can write.
Flawlessly I have to admit. It is always well structured, well developed, and all in all flawless. But it lacks one thing.
Something that I missed in all her work, something I miss in newer videos of the people I talked about above – soul.
Form without function. To twist the phrase “Never judge a book by it’s cover” I’d have to say its all cover, but no book.

Just turn your attention to Hollywood,
I’d watch a crappy B-Movie, with bad actors, bad special effects that would make the 60s SFX departments look glorious, and cheesy oneliners but a GOOD story, rather than a 3 hour CGI fuckfest, A-List actors and directors, without one.
So I have to say:
Sloppy writing but good story – I’ll read it.
Crappy videos with a shaky cam but lots of heart and soul put into it – I’ll watch it.
B-Movie but a good story – I’ll see it.
And for all of these I’d even pay money, rather than a highly develeoped product with no content.

“If you’re good something, never do it for free.” – agreed. I chose my payment to be the “Likes” here.
Can’t buy anything for it, but I’d rather be a liked, likeable, broke author/blogger, than a shiny object of “admiration” with no content and no soul in my work.

BTW: I like you folks.
The moment the first Zed Episode received the first like my heart skipped a beat, my day got better in that very instant, and my determination to continue on was cemented.
I had tried before, but it was desasterous. This was my last attempt to make it as a blogger. And you made it happen!
Even if I stick with the current 28 followers until the end of (my) time – I thank you.
All of you.
I like you.
All of you.

A.

