I gathered them, collected them, marvelled at the magnificently beautiful texture…would my mom have let me, I would’ve bathed in them!
We crafted stuff with them and during the fall, Chestnuts were as good as currency!

Of course, as with other childhood habits and valuables, chestnuts lost in value over time, and today I’m just smiling nostalgic, when I find one in the alley, and I have to use my skills from back then, to liberate it from its thorny shell…

And that’s the reason why I’m writing this: I keep finding them! 
There is a fracking daycare in that alley, schools are nearby, many kids live here!

There shouldn’t be a single one left!

What the frak is wrong with kids today? Are there virtual chestnuts? Do they pass a virus I’m unaware of?
No?
Then, what the frak?!

Sure, that pesky little moth is making the leaves of the chestnut trees fall in midsummer, as if it was late fall. Before, there are lumps in the leaves where the larvae grow. Some of the shells look lumpy as well, but still – they’re chestnuts! Grab for them with sticks, pry the shells open and get pricked a hundred times each!
DO IT!
It will be fun…

…my son will see them, marvel at them, cherish them and play with them, long before he gets a computer, a TV or gods forbid, a cellphone!
He should know a stick, before he can differentiate between an Ak47 and a Mac10 – just call it gun. And chestnuts before Euros…

