…were the first weapon made for one purpose, and one purpose alone: to kill a fellow human being.

There was homicide long before the invention of the sword, but primitve axes, knives, spears and bows were vital in our survival: hunting and killing game. It also could be used to kill another human. But the sword was made with only that intent.

It makes me wonder what went through the mind of the smith in question. “I’m so mad at these people, I’ll make a weapon that will put them to the ground once and for all!” If I’m mad enough to want to kill someone, I’ll probably just grab a club and beat them to a pulp. If I had to go to war in a pre-sword stoneage society – “grab some branches and roots boys, sharpen your knives and spears!”
But I wouldn’t have set aside material, time and manpower to make swords happen. But then again, I’m not a good leader…

After the sword came the crossbow, yes you read that right. The first crossbows were clumsy things, the bolts would slip out from the top if the device was lowered, so hunting with it was not an option, hence it was only good for one thing, and one thing alone: KILLING FELLOW HUMANS!

You can argue that guns were made for hunting, and I am willing to give you that – although the aim of ancient guns was so terrible that you could shoot an elephant at point blank and still MISS. But the automatic weapons are no good for hunting, unless you like your rabbit stew with more lead than meat, so we’re back at killing our fellow human beings.

I close this little excursion of mine with the portible rocket launcher, because there is no problem that can’t be solved with a suitable amount of explosives…

A.

