This brings back memories of countless hours, days and even weeks spent on our carpet floor, building the track – bends, bridges, tunnels, parallel tracks, diverging ones, merging ones, etc., playing it and having the rough carpet leave an imprint on my knees even through thick cord trousers.

Clearly I can recall the puzzle piece like connectors of the track pieces themselves, and the wiggly plastic wheels of the trains.

I absolutely loved this a child, although it wasn’t the posh electric track I always wanted. In retrospect, the electric one wouldn’t have been as much fun.

Now, it IS made from wood, and that alone deserves bonus points – the smell and feeling of wood is priceless – plus, it’s eco friendly. Thanks to it being made of beech wood it had the durability to withstand damage from childsplay.

The track itself finely tuned my problem solving skills, and made me think of “work-arounds” (something we IT people love and loathe, equally). Playing with it taught me of gravity, friction and inertia, and mostly – magnetism. (The individual cars of the trains were connected via magnets.)

All that while connecting a train and letting it roll down a bridge you had built, just to watch some carts fly off or derail, while the rest of the train stalled off after a relatively short distance. Inertia, friction, gravity.

Or while pulling a train you discover at some point the magnets can’t hold together the lengthy train anymore.

I recall that the train tracks grew larger year by year, and soon my rather large room wasn’t big enough anymore. So it had to extend out into our living room, which made my mom very unhappy.
Unlike me she wasn’t blessed with long sleep, still isn’t.
So at least once a night she had to cross through my room and the living room until reaching the loo.
Huge fracking railroads were hindering her midnight loo endeavors, and already bridges had to be taken down during the night to allow her safe passage, but the living room should stay train free.

That didn’t stop me from building bigger and bigger tracks. more complicated ones though since they couldn’t leave my room.

I hope my son will like the railroad track, because I still have mine, and it’ll be a hell of a starter set, plus I’d get to play with it again, just like in the olden days…

Good play folks,
A.

PS:
This is a blog post, not an advertisment. I got informed that the Thomas the Tank Engine models fit the Brio ones, and the Toys’R’Us tracks and trains match too. I just grew up with Brio originals, and thusly can only talk about these. Back in my day there was no remote controlled engine either. Maybe we’ll one day get one of them. But in that case I want a camera fitted to the front, and film the whole trip 😀

