I recently saw a documentary about a rather mysagonist culture.
I won’t comment which one, but I ahve to add: It ain’t a pure chinese problem.

The dilemma of the one child policy is known and critizised plenty enough. Girls face abortion, or neglect in many cases because they cost (dowry) while boys don’t.
The other culture doesn’t have such a stupid policy. It still has a ratio of 145 boys to 100 girls born.
BORN mind you!

They neglect their girls, boys would get better medical treatment than girls, thus child mortality rate among girls is higher. When they grow up there are too many men for only a few women. The documentary even interviewed a woman who had given birth to EIGHT (!) girls, and killed all of the born children immediately, because – you guessed it – they were girls.
EIGHT healthy babies, murdered by their own mother as soon as they were born, because girls.

Although the culture in question is rich and ancient, has a lot of history predating anything we have here in the west, this current trend is a cul de sac. And I’m glad for it.

Don’t get me wrong, I am sorry for all the lost lives. For every girl born and murdered, neglected or abandonned. It hurts me.
But I am glad. This – obviously primitive – culture is on death row. They are killing off their future women, and most women from the civilised parts of the world won’t comply with that kind of crap, so their entire culture is in it’s dying twitches.
Good. No more child murder, no more child neglect, no more gendercide. The chinese have a similar problem.
Good.

I like the culture and it aches me to see them go, but if that is the cost to stop gendercide, good. Taking out your idiotic cultural and religious beliefs on infants and toddlers – your culture and religion deserve to die out.

That is all I ahve to say.

It is wrong, I am hurt on a far too personal level than I anticipated, and I’d like to bitch-slap all these people into the ground until my hands and muscles are sore, but I can’t.
So I sit back, and take comfort in the fact that these morons are actually killing off their own future, until tehy are ALL gone.

A.

