So I upgraded to a newer and better (and bigger) Samsung Smartphone.

First glance, I’m loving it!

Second glance, still loving it, but I’m working hard to get all the standard shit out of the system. You know, pre installed ring and notification tones, data mining garbage and so on.

On the third glance, I’m asking myself what kind of deranged lunatic designed the new operating system. (Android 4.4.2)

You see, I’m a writer, so on my tablet I write my stories and other material. (Used to do that on my phone before I got the tablet.)
On my cell, I keep my log (diary if you will). And sometimes I write my stuff on my cell.
In either case, I press SAVE choose the external SDCard, choose the directory, give it a file name and done.
When already saved once, just save after opening it.
I couldn’t find my folders when I had hit save. Not even the infamous “extSDcard”.

Immediately one thought sprang to mind: Bug!

Saved it to “0”, had to copy it over to the SDCard, in the directory where it belonged, opened it, wrote a few lines, saved, aaaand
NOPE!

New Android security policies prevent Apps from writing to the SD Card!

“IT AIN’T A BUG, IT’S A FEATURE!”

When Microsoft said this, everyone shat their pants. When Android/Google says it, it’s accepted?

I was a little jealous when my wife’s tablet was updated to 4.4.2, and mine wasn’t, but now, I’m fracking glad!

Look here you numbskulls: I write in the App, save directly to my “extSdCard”, in case the device has an inconvenient mishap with a turbo drill, I just take out the SD card and put it in a new device.
Here, a small flow chart-ish display of what’s wrong:

Correct: App->Writing->Save to SD Card
Wrong: App->Writing->Save to 0->Copy to SD Card

I can’t save a file already in existence on the SD, so for any updates, I have to open the file, save it to “0” again, copy it to the SD again and replace the original. (or have file names like “FrackYouTwatfaces-1” and counting upwards…)

Now, I have to go and find a hack, a work around, SOME FRACKING WAY to save shit directly to SD!

So, what kind of nonthinking mouthbreather did this???
Give me a patch, an update, a crack, a hack – SOMETHING!

Whoever you are, I hope you live at leat to be 100 years old, while constantly bleeding from both eyes!

A.

