I saw a post on an entertainment page the other day *cough*9gag*cough* about famous authors and what they use for writing.

What they prefer, for writing.

Most used some sort of pen, glorifying it as if the pen was actually the author, not them. One used a typewriter, one a computer, older than dirt.

I sat there and scratched my head.

Not because they used that shit, or glorified it beyond belief (as if they got paid for it?).
But because I always saw them waaaaay beyond my reach, still do. I could never come anywhere close to their league, let alone play in it (I’d lose, I know that).
As I thought about that I also had to think about my writing preferences, and I shall let you in on them.

ANYTHING THAT I CAN USE TO BRING THOUGHTS INTO WRITTEN FORM.

Be it my tablet, cellphone, netbook, notebook, desk computer, pen and paper, nails and flesh.

Thought -> something -> written out

Perfect!
I don’t have a favorite writing utensil, no fetish for a certain tool, other than my mind, I don’t need shit. I don’t need the perfect pen, a reliable trusty old computer or typewriter from the GeStaPo! I need a tool to bring thoughts into written form, and that is it.

It is my opinion that as soon as you glorify your writing utensil, you’re on a downward slope. I obsiosly seem to be mistaken, since all these famous and successful writiers do it, but for me it doesn’t work.

To my fellow writiers out there who have issues with this as well, keep writing on what ever platform is handy to you, and don’t strive to be like the famous ones. You are unique. Your writing is unique, and so it should be with how you write.

Carry on,
A.

