Not. Me.

So the new Ghostbusters trailer finally dropped last week, after having had a trailer for the trailer (which is like an ad for an ad) and it shows us exactly what this Movie will be:
Utter crap.

Don’t get me wrong and start your feminist ramblings. I wanted to be excited about this movie, and I really didn’t give two shits about the fact they did the gender swap. Screw it, if it is written well, the all female cast is fine.
But that’s where the main problem lies. It is not written well.

It dishes out stereotypes (“sassy blackwoman”) uses unfunny comedy (“is it the wig or the hat”; did I go to the wrong trailer? Is this a scooby doo episode?), and the writing in all seems to follow the “how to write clean, politically correct, stereotypical comedy” rule book that has been floating around Hollywood for far too long.
For example, when one of them is possessed, I knew that she will get the ghost slapped out of her. Then it happens.
The ghost flies away, and here we have already established that ghosts can be seen, but I knew that she will get slapped again. Then that happens. Or when they both say “Let’s go.” and then go back and forth about it in an unfunny way.

Predictable.
Uncomfortable.
Unfunny.
Wannabe.

Again, no issue with them being women, just bad writing. Maybe a lack of chemistry.
And we get to a hint of an antagonist. “Someone is creating a device that amplifies paranormal activity…”

Fuck!
You!

If you’re looking for the best and funniest scenes in this movie, you just saw them.

If they make a sequel, I just hope it will be better written. Oh and by the way, I am seriously thinking about seeing this piece still. Why? So I can better judge it. Who knows, maybe the trailer is utter crap, and the film a hidden gem. Part of me sees this as a case of Star Wars. We all knew the prequels sucked ass, we still went to watch Episode 3.
We’ll see….take care, and keep bustin’
A.

